• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 202 ~ More Adventures on Substack

✨ the SPARK 202 ~ More Adventures on Substack

And Why I'm Going ALL in

Welcome to the 202nd issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that captivates and sells.

Well, it’s been a whole week since I jumped into Substack, and I’ve decided I’m officially going ALL in. 🤯

This means I’m moving the SPARK over to Substack, too (after this issue), and making Substack the primary place where I write and engage.

I’ll explain the “why” behind this decision and then share how the first week has been.

I probably said this at the beginning of the year - don’t remember when exactly, but my priority for this year has been to simplify my business.

When I made that commitment to myself, I didn’t know it would mean slowly losing interest in what I’ve been doing for 16+ years, but that’s what happened this year.

I knew I wanted something different.

I could feel it pulling me…, but I didn’t know what that would look like or how to find the pivot.

Apparently, it took a hellacious move back to Costa Rica and realizing it wasn’t right anymore (moving back to California next Tuesday) to get the clarity needed to make some changes.

At this stage in my life, I want ease.

I love Costa Rica, but living and working here doesn’t mean ease.

Side note: I would love to hear what ease means to you. Hit reply and let me know.

Nothing about how I’ve been running my business feels like ease.

Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem doing the work, but it’s more about deep work than busy work.

Which is what everything else has felt like.

I’m going to eliminate the tools, processes, and platforms I don’t enjoy (and don’t deliver results) and go deep with Substack and a couple of social platforms.

My plan (as of right now), is to put up a one-pager on my KimDoyal site. Who I am, where to find me, how to subscribe, listen, etc.

It feels both “EEEK!” and “HELL YES!” at the same time.

My first week on Substack

I’ve only shared “Women, Wisdom, & Wealth” in a couple of places: this newsletter last week, a Facebook post yesterday, and with a couple of friends.

One week in, I have 18 subscribers… 3 came directly from Substack and aren’t people I know.

Oh… and I’ve also written my first “note.” 👇

I know that I have a bit of a headstart because I have an existing audience, but I want to point out what I said in the note:

“I’ve been writing online for over 16 years, and writing and engaging here reminds me of those early days when people were excited about possibilities.”

Remember that this is also for a completely new niche/category.

And confession… I feel like a wobbly toddler learning to walk as I step into this new niche (the psychology of money for women).

I’ve already realized that what I’ve done for the SPARK doesn’t quite feel right for Women, Wisdom, & Wealth (damn, that’s a mouthful, isn’t it?).

In the first few posts I've published, I’ve been transparent about the iterative process. I’ll also make sure to conduct a few polls now and then to keep my finger on the pulse of what people want.

As bummed as I am to leave beehiiv (I do love the UI), it feels stupid to stay here when there’s a built-in community and organic traffic on Substack.

Substack Warnings

I still think the publication setup is a horrible experience.

I’ve started working on my ebook, “A Visual Guide to Setting Up Substack,” and I hope to have it done by mid-to-late October. I’ll share that process, screenshots, and tips with you here.

This doesn’t mean I’m going down the rabbit hole of creating a bunch of products for Substack or becoming “The Substack Chick” 😂 (if you’re new here, that’s a reference to my 10 years as ‘The WordPress Chick’).

I just see it as a huge problem I can solve (I’ve spoken with a few people who have said the same thing and would love the guide).

My second warning is more of a suggestion: I highly recommend you expand who you subscribe to - outside of the creator/marketer/writer space.

There’s a bit of that icky feeling of people popping up who have been on the platform for a short amount of time and are doing the “How I made X amount of money in less than a month…”

Followed by, “Let me show you how! Join my, buy my, etc.”

Sigh.

I’ll never knock beginners for showing up and going for it, but let me remind you that only one of the top-earning Substack newsletters falls under the marketing category (I think it’s more general business).

Clearly, the SPARK falls under the creator category, but that’s not all I read.

*And (because I’ve been here before), I reserve the right to change my mind about Substack - but not for quite a while. I need to give it a year at least.

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

Thanks to my friend, Jaime Northrup, of Minimalist Hustler, for sharing this tool. I’m going to this to produce the Visual Guide to Setting Up Substack!

Go from blank page to published book with Reedsy Studio. The best part? It’s FREE!

A Little Brainpower 🧠

YouTube is one of the platforms I will be using - and not just for the video podcast. They’re now rolling out YouTube Communities experience by fans for fans.

If you are considering using Substack, read “9 Reasons People Will Pay to Subscribe to Your Substack.”

Another great case study from Chenell Basilio of Growth in Reverse. “How Olly Richards earned $175,461 from a Google Doc.”

Tool Time 🛠

This will have you singing 🎶 😂

I’ve been busy selling as much as possible before returning to California next week.

The biggest thing I needed to sell was a full-size stackable washer and dryer… which I managed to sell (WOOHOO!). I purchased this from a previous neighbor before I got down here. (It was used.)

The rest of the items were decor and household items, and I even managed to sell two wireless Apple keyboards (with a mouse). I’m old school and prefer the keyboard with the 10-key, so there was no point in bringing those back (both new and never used—they came with my iMacs).

The final six days I have left here will be spent seeing friends, hopefully taking some beach walks (it’s been raining all day most days this week), and packing things up.

I also need another health certificate for the dog (had I gone back within 30 days, I could have skipped this 🙄), and that’s it!

We fly into LA on Tuesday, and I’ve rented a car to drive up to Northern California (unfortunately, we’ll be hitting the road at commute time, although I don’t recall the last time I was in LA and there wasn’t traffic—regardless of the time of day).

I’m looking forward to being back and getting settled.

Here’s to staying put for a while. 😉

Have a wonderful day,
Kim