• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 185 ~ Flipping the script

✨ the SPARK 185 ~ Flipping the script

A Social Media Reframe

Welcome to the 185th issue of SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

Have you ever wondered why a holiday weekend can throw your schedule off even when you work for yourself?

I get it when you do something on the holiday, but I did some work on Memorial Day (this past Monday), and literally, on Tuesday, it was like, “Wait a minute… what day is it today?” 🤪

Fortunately, I enjoyed some much-needed time off the computer, outside in the sunshine, doing a little gardening, and getting the pool ready. The sun's warmth is one of those simple pleasures in life, isn’t it?

And, of course, I decided to listen to an audiobook while outside enjoying the sunshine.

BUT… before I tell you what book it is… I want you to keep an open mind.

Promise me, OK?

I was listening to Gary V’s new book, Day Trading Attention.

I’ve gone through different spurts with Gary V. but have always liked his stuff (I met him in person once, and he was incredibly gracious & kind).

This book is incredibly tactical. He gives you specific things to test/try, and he’s a huge proponent of strategic organic content + paid traffic (much like Laurel Portié teaches in her FB ads program).

When I say “tactical,” I don’t mean that it’s full of the latest and greatest tactic to game the algorithms (seriously… some of the “short” videos that have thousands of views have zero value) - I mean this: 👇

My favorite part of that definition is “aiming at an end beyond the immediate action.”

In other words, you must be able to deploy patience while implementing.

Here’s how this book is helping me “flip the script” on social, so to speak.

First, he goes beyond the surface level.

Most people I know who don’t enjoy social media tend to stay at the surface level and focus on what they don’t like about the platforms (also- zero judgment here. This has been hugely eye-opening for me).

It is fascinating to hear him discuss understanding the nuances of the different platforms, what type of content works best where, and how to engage.

This doesn’t mean I’m going to go all out on every platform.

Instead, I want to look at the platforms I’m choosing to use from a place of curiosity and understanding.

I’m almost treating this like a science experiment.

As Laurel says, it takes 90 days to data with her ads ecosystem. Think of anything you test out as 90 days to data.

I also hope Gary is right about what he’s calling the “Tik-Tok-ification” of the platforms.

The platforms are moving more towards showing you content you like as opposed to who you follow.

He also said something that got a “hell yes” from me: long-form content isn’t going anywhere and still works.

Even though much is pulling our attention, that doesn’t mean we only want to consume short-form content (i.e., the attention span of a gnat).

Think about the last TV show you binge-watched.

Or the movie Oppenheimer (3 hours) or Avengers Endgame (3 hrs., 2 min).

People will consume the content regardless of length if it is good.

And now, with AI, it’s easier than ever to create and test different types of content (formats, hooks, etc.) more frequently.

This isn’t about "pushing” a ton of crap content into the market; it’s about finding a workflow, style, and type of content that works for you.

That you can be consistent with.

Once you see what type of organic content works well, you can use the same creative and test it, putting a little money behind it with paid traffic.

So many people say paid traffic has gotten too expensive, but just like long-form content, when you know what you’re doing, and the content is good, it doesn’t have to be.

I’d love to hear your thoughts if you pick up Gary's book!

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

For podcasts, video recordings, webinars, shorts, and so much more! I switched to RiversideFM from Zencastr last year and am thrilled. Super high quality and a great price.

A Little Brainpower 🧠

If it’s time to change up your lead magnet, look no further. Your Recipe for a Perfect Lead Magnet.

Did you know there’s a new Instagram feature that increases engagement? “The best NEW Instagram feature just dropped called “REVEAL.”

A different take on work-life balance from James Clear. “The Downside of Work-Life Balance” (the four-burner theory).

Tool Time 🛠

  • Build AI Tools: Have you ever considered building a free tool for lead gen? Check out FoxyApps here.

  • Quizzes: Quizzes are another great lead gen tool and now you can create them quickly with AI. Try OpinionStage free here.

  • Zoom alternative: I must admit, this looks fantastic and has everything you need built right in. Try Butter.us free here.

  • Headlines: If you’re stuck with what headline to write, and don’t like what you’re getting from ChatGPT, try Easy-Peasy’s free headline generator here.

Listen 🎧

I had a ton of fun on this podcast episode and shared some new announcements!

As we head into summer 😊

@SteveMaraboli

It's hard to believe we’re only two days away from June!

Obviously, I’m excited about the warmer weather and longer evenings, but I’m also excited about everything in my business right now.

I had an incredible session with my mentor (therapist) this week, and… she’s agreed to do a podcast episode with me (part of my Women & Money series! I'm SUPER excited and a little nervous, haha) and has some definitive goals for the remainder of this year.

But I’m breaking them down into smaller, more manageable time periods. I prefer 90 days, but I think I need to focus on the next two months and my move back to Costa Rica, then I will focus on the remaining 5 months.

Whatever you have planned - taking lots of time off at home, traveling with family, or business as usual… I hope you head into summer with the enthusiasm of a child with no homework for a few months.

Have a fantastic day,
Kim