• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 191 ~ How Do You Know When It's Time?

✨ the SPARK 191 ~ How Do You Know When It's Time?

When to make decisions

Welcome to the 191st issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

Even growing up as a kid in the 80s, the mall was never really “my thing.”

It was something to do, but that’s about it.

Maybe because the mall we went to was 20+ minutes away by car and a good 2.5 hours by bus (welcome to minimal public transportation in suburbia).

Oh, and of course, until I was working and earning my own money, going shopping with only enough money to maybe buy a snack felt like a moot point, y’know?

In addition to that, I’ve just never really been a big shopper (note: that doesn’t mean I don’t like buying stuff; I just don’t enjoy the process of shopping. 🤣).

I remember taking my great aunt Christmas shopping one year. We walked into a store together, I saw something I liked for the person I was shopping for, got it, paid, and we left.

When we left the store, she said, “Boy, I like shopping with you. You get in, and you get out.”

This is pretty much how I’ve always made decisions.

My aunt once told me that very few decisions we make cannot be undone or course-corrected.

And she’s right.

However, as I get older, I try to take my time with my decisions when I can unless, of course, I know in my gut that they’re right.

Both of my moves to Costa Rica, first in 2021 and now this August, were made very quickly and with little doubt (which was kind of impressive in 2021, considering I had never been there).

The idea to move back this year truly felt like a divine hit and a little out of left field. I knew in an instant that was what I was supposed to do.

But what do you do when things aren’t that clear?

When the idea to make a big shift hits you for a couple of reasons, but you’re feeling a little doubtful?

Before I share what I’m doing to sort this, let me give you a little context so it doesn’t come across as so cryptic (as much as I enjoy a little mystery, I’ll shoot straight from the hip on this one).

For several reasons and desires, I’ve been thinking it might be time to leave the creator space (digital marketing).

When I started my business in 2008, I never thought I’d be running a business where I would create and market about marketing.

Some of you know this, but for those of you who don’t, my first website was actually “The Self Help Chick” (which gave me the inspiration for “The WordPress Chick”).

I knew nothing about marketing, was clueless about the internet, and the only time I wrote anything of length was in school.

All I knew was that I needed to find something I could do from home so I could be around for my kids (I was widowed five years prior).

I approached starting my business like most decisions. I decided I would do it, and I stuck with it.

For the first ten years, it was like drinking out of a fire hose. I loved everything I was learning and had a knack for tech that surprised me.

I still love learning and tech (AI blows me away), but I don’t know if I want to talk about it or market it anymore.

Sixteen and a half years later, I feel a pull towards something else entirely.

Something different.

And it’s a strong pull.

All that being said, how do you know when it’s time to make a decision like this?

The fact that I’m not super clear and it’s not an obvious decision (like my moves to Costa Rica - although it’s not like that clarity comes with every decision. If only!)- tells me that now is not the time.

I also know that when I’m as busy as I am and feel a little tired, it’s also not the time to make any decisions that don’t need immediate attention.

This brings to mind this quote from the poem “The Invitation” by Oriah Mountain Dreamer (I’m sure I’ve shared this before):

“I want to know if you can disappoint another to be true to yourself. If you can bear the accusation of betrayal and not betray your own soul.”

My answer to that is Yes. Absolutely.

But it still has to feel like it’s the right time.

We never know if our decision is the “right” decision - we can only know if it’s right for us when we make it.

It’s going to be an interesting rest of the year. 😉

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

I’m super happy for my friend Mattia, who has officially launched his app, Alohi!

I’ve tested this and was blown away by the quality of the content generated. Import your content, click generate, and choose from high-quality content that sounds like you (seriously, no silly ‘digital world’ nonsense… I’m talking to you ChatGPT).

A Little Brainpower 🧠

This aligns with my belief that ‘understanding’ is the next key element in marketing. “How Mid-Funnel Content Can Be Your Secret SEO Weapon.”

Success outside of the marketing space. How a Farming Newsletter does $18M a year.

If you’ve ever wondered what a Pillar Page is, look no further. “Pillar Pages: How to Create One + Examples.”

Tool Time 🛠

Now I want to watch the new Ghostbusters 🤣

This has been pretty wordy this week, so I’ll keep the wrap-up short and sweet.

It’s been a busy few weeks for me, and I have no doubt my remaining 26 days here will be similar.

I’ll squeeze in as much pool time as possible while getting a little more done every day. I’m incredibly grateful for good friends who already shlepped four bags down for me (seriously… amazing friends, right?).

I want it to go slowly and quickly at the same time.

However it passes, here’s to enjoying every moment.

Have a wonderful day,
Kim