• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 183 ~ Launching & running a giveaway

✨ the SPARK 183 ~ Launching & running a giveaway

Let's kick off summer 🏖

Welcome to the 183rd issue of SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

It’s finally starting to feel like Spring in Northern California. Actually, it’s starting to feel more like Summer than Spring (I can’t say that we had much of a Spring).

As much as I like Spring, I’m a summer girl through and through.

Warm weather, flip-flops, pool time, and longer evenings with lots of light (at least until I return to Costa Rica. Did you know it gets dark by 6 p.m. there all year long because of its proximity to the equator?).

As we start heading into Summer, there are a couple of things I’m going to do in my business to kick off the season.

1) “Everything is Content” Summer Camp Cohort (more on that soon)

2) Ultimate Content Marketing + AI Giveaway - Summer Kickoff

Here’s the scoop on the Giveaway. 👇

Since list growth is a priority for me, I’m testing things I haven’t done in a while (or ever) to see what kind of return I get.

Which is where the Giveaway comes in.

The first time I ran a Giveaway was in 2018 when I launched the Content Creators Planner with Jodi Hersh.

We had some great results: 500 subscribers in 4 days (in hindsight, I would have run it longer, but now I know better!).

The plan is to launch this on June 3rd (a Monday) and run it for 2- 3 weeks (I want to do a little more research on best practices for the length of time).

I have both UPViral and Vyper.io - I’m not sure which one I’ll use, but I’m leaning towards UPViral (it had been a while since I logged in - they’ve made a lot of updates, and I’ve already used Vyper.io. I won’t talk about the fact that I had RafflePress and never used it 🙄).

I’ll share the creation, the launch, the live giveaway, and the results with you here (I’ll probably link to a more in-depth blog post to give you a recap).

Because I’m shifting my niche a bit (content and email marketing) to incorporate AI (I use it daily)—meaning all of my courses, coaching, and workshops on content and email marketing will have an AI element mixed in—I’m going to structure the prizes accordingly.

In addition to my own AI courses, I’m reaching out to some of my favorite AI tools (specific to content marketing) to see if I can get some licenses donated.

This will create a sort of ‘sponsorship’ for the Giveaway, and all the companies that donate a software license will be featured on the page, in content, in emails, etc.

OOOH! I just had an idea that I could do podcast interviews with the founders and run them during the Giveaway… hmm…🤔

All the prizes will be relative to content + AI (I might throw in a pair of AirPod Pros).

I want a mix of courses and tools, and the Grand Prize will also include coaching with me.

There will be 3 prizes total:

  • Grand Prize

  • First Prize

  • Second Prize

I’m debating whether to send something like a sticker to every legitimate entry, but I haven’t decided. (And then do I limit that to the US only?).

Here’s another way to get some leverage if I choose to send stickers:

If I sent a sticker, I could send it with a single note card with a QR code leading to a bonus Thank You.
(Can you tell this is stream-of-consciousness writing? Welcome to my brain during allergy season).

The key to this success is promotion (obviously) and ensuring I have a super clear and fun follow-up sequence.

I want to create a follow-up sequence that is more of an ‘experience’ - add in some video, audio download, and a couple of bonuses.

The ‘super clear’ part means everyone who opts in knows exactly who I am, what I do, how I can help them, and exactly what the rules are for the Giveaway (if they’re not a subscriber when the winners are selected… then no dice, my friend).

This gives me 2.5 weeks to create and launch this, which should be fairly straightforward.

  • Set up the Giveaway in UPViral (already started; it has AI & templates)

  • Line up prizes (I will make a list and do outreach tomorrow)

  • Create email follow-up

  • Create graphics

  • Plan and create promotional campaign (ads?)

  • Ask a handful of friends to help kick it off.

I’ll send a status update next week.

Here we go!

This issue brought to you by Cloudways

Cloudways announces a new feature called Client Billing that will enable users to streamline client invoices and automate recurring revenue subscriptions. The feature will allow users to create white-label invoices with their logo and brand colors. Finally, as part of the feature, users will also be able to accept payments via Stripe.

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

I’m still on a mission to find the right planning, organizing, and mapping tool for me. This might be the one (they had me at ‘draw’):

A Little Brainpower 🧠

There’s a better way to sell through your newsletter without feeling sleazy. Read “The Newsletter Tactic That Boosts Sales (Without Feeling Sleazy).”

Tool Time 🛠

Just… HOLY MOLY! 🤯

If you haven’t seen the update from OpenAI for ChatGPT4o, this video is worth a watch!

I hosted the first “Your ONE Thing” free workshop yesterday, which went great!

If you registered and couldn't attend, the replay will go out later today. I used Gamma.app for the presentation, and guess what?

Gamma reached out and asked if I’d like to be part of their “Gambassador” program.

I’m not sure what that means yet, but I love this tool so much that I immediately said yes (even if it means I have to log in to their Slack channel… one of my least favorite tools).

And yes, I’ll definitely ask them if they’d donate a license for the Giveaway!

Have a fantastic day my friends,
Kim