• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 197 ~ Should I Sell?

✨ the SPARK 197 ~ Should I Sell?

The money isn't always worth it

Welcome to the 197th issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

It feels like it’s been ages since I’ve had a typical work week.

I just pulled up my Google Calendar, and it’s been almost five weeks… which is a lot (unless you’re in Europe and take all of August off. #lovethatidea).

I’m getting a little antsy about returning to Costa Rica (Monday the 26th) simply so I can get settled in and get back into my routines (after all this, I know I could never be a true digital nomad).

I definitely function better with some structure.

I call it “gentle structure” because I also need a little flexibility, some wiggle room for things to change, and plenty of white space.

I’ve been hinting at some changes in my business, and just when I thought I was crystal clear on things, life throws me a curveball (isn’t that always the case?).

I hadn’t made any definitive decisions about anything, but I felt like I was getting closer, and then I woke up yesterday to a very interesting email.

Someone was inquiring whether I’d be interested in selling “✨ the SPARK.” 😲

I haven’t replied as of this writing (I will), but I’m curious to discuss it.

I’m not interested in selling the SPARK.

I’m not sure how that would even work since this is ALL me… my voice as opposed to a generic brand voice, aggregated news, or a newsletter with only a handful of links (no judgment, just easier to have someone else step in).

Not to mention, my open and click-through rates keep improving. This was from last week:

However, I am interested in selling “Creator’s Weekly” (hosted on Substack; my daughter has been writing it for the past year and is pursuing her plans for graduate school).

So, needless to say, I’m going to reply that I’m definitely interested in having a conversation and that I also have another newsletter they might be interested in.

We had been thinking about selling Creator’s Weekly for a while; I’ve just been a tad busy. 😉

That said… I’ve been thinking a lot about the direction I want to take my brand.

I’m still going all in with “Women, Wisdom & Wealth” (I have a handful of interviews done and was hoping to launch at the end of this month, but my botched move back to Costa Rica put a kink in those plans) - which to start with will be a podcast and newsletter.

But I’m not pivoting my entire brand to Women, Wisdom, & Wealth (at least not in the foreseeable future). I should have a link for that no later than the first week of September (and what the bucket - September is only ten days away!?!).

So, what’s a girl to do?

That’s the million-dollar question, isn’t it?

Sometimes, it’s easier to clarify what we want by first defining what we don’t want.

I don’t want to force a decision or put undue pressure on myself. I’ve done that way too many times before and have more than enough evidence that that never works.

I don’t want to do something just because I think it will make money.

I’m way past that phase of my life.

If it doesn’t light me up, it’s not happening (or as I’ve been known to say in the past, “If it’s not fun, I’m not doing it.”).

In fact, I know I’m more willing to do something that lights me up, even if it seems risky, over something that doesn’t light me up and has a financial guarantee.

Hear my heart, though… I doubt those decisions, too.

We all say useless things to ourselves, such as “I should have…, I wish I had…, I wish I hadn’t…, why didn’t I…” - you get the point.

Those questions are no more relevant than what you had for lunch on Feb.3rd, 2001 (random date I pulled out of thin air).

Completely irrelevant, it doesn’t move you forward, and you stay stuck in the spin.

Getting clear requires you to be still.

Don’t jump into your favorite planning tool or mindmap software.

Go for a walk, get out in nature, journal, talk to a mentor…

Whatever you do, set the intention to deploy a little patience and allow things to unfold.

We forget that the process is equally as important as the destination.

Enjoy the journey.

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

This newsletter feels like a fresh take on writing and newsletters. It has fewer formulaic and clickbaity headlines and more genuine sharing and storytelling.

I just became a paying subscriber (there’s a free version, too), and so far, so good. Click here to subscribe to The Lemon Tree Mindset.

A Little Brainpower 🧠

I never thought about ‘this’ being the reason for the 40-hour workweek. Read “Your Life Has Already Been Designed.”

Tool Time 🛠

  • Social: If you’re looking for a new social media planning, creation, and social tool with AI built-in, try Followr free here.

  • Notes: A note-taking app with one of my favorite tools, Excalidraw, built in! Try jotnoted free here.

  • Animated content: Motion design made simple. Start with a template or create your own. Use Jitter free here.

  • Video: Another option for taking your long-form videos and creating shorts. AI-powered video editing & social media. Try Minvo free here.

Am I too easily amused? 🤣

One of my favorite Dr. Wayne Dyer quotes is, “If you change the things you look at, the things you look at change.”

Maybe that’s why I feel so much change in the creator/marketing space.

I’m looking more and more outside of this space for content, inspiration, and learning (is it me, or does it feel a little magical to find a new writer/creator who resonates with you deeply?).

I love seeing someone who teaches people how to sketch, make multiple six-figures… or a landscaper who cleans up elderly people’s yards for free because he earns so much money sharing those videos on YouTube (so satisfying!).

The more of those stories I find, the more inspired I get.

If you’re interested in stepping outside of the digital marketing space, pretend you’re new to online business, pick a hobby you’d like to pursue (or already have), that has nothing to do with marketing, and do a little search on YouTube or Google.

See what pops up.

It might be the breath of fresh air you need.

Lastly, while I’ve done everything possible to ensure this upcoming trip back to Costa Rica with the dog goes smoothly, I could use all your good vibes.

I’m cautiously optimistic that I’ll send next week’s newsletter from Costa Rica.

Have a wonderful day,
Kim