• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 194 ~ Which Would You Choose?

✨ the SPARK 194 ~ Which Would You Choose?

One thing or ALL the things...

Welcome to the 194th issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

Are we there yet?

Who else asked that question of your parents on a road trip? (It's so silly because, um, hello… the car is still moving. Do you THINK we’re there yet? 😂).

That’s how I’ve been feeling with this move.

Technically, I’m packed. But on the drive down to my sisters earlier this week, I decided not to bring the top of my desk (my standing legs went down with friends in early July).

The thought of packing those pieces and trying to manage three big suitcases, a small roller bag as a carry-on, my iMac (huge box), the dog, AND the desk?

Crazy-making.

I kept telling myself that the cost of checking it was cheaper than the cost of having the desktop made.

I didn’t factor in the cost of my sanity, stress, or my back.

After checking with a friend who has been working with a new local craftsman (and getting to see some of his work), she reached out to him, and he said he’d be happy to do it.

The next step (and I can’t believe I’m saying this) is to weigh everything and potentially reevaluate what needs to go and what can stay, which means unpacking and repacking.

Fortunately, I have a little time and space to do that in the next couple of days before heading back up to my Dad’s for his 80th birthday. 🥳

Knowing that I’ll be back in Costa Rica this time next week makes it doable, but this process has reminded me that it’s OK to simplify and take your time.

Ever since I moved back to California in Feb 2023, I’ve known that I want to simplify my business (and my life).

I’ll have some announcements in September (how the bucket is September only a month away?) about my business, but for today, l want to share this doodle I made and talk about my inspiration for it.

First, for all you multi-passionate entrepreneurs, stick with me here.

This isn’t about only doing one thing… it’s about getting one thing working first so you have the ability (i.e., financial freedom) to pursue additional things.

The inspiration for my doodle is my friend, Martiza Parra.

Maybe you’re tired of hearing about her, but she is the epitome of someone who has created a simple life, doing work she loves and earning an incredible income.

Her business model?

👉 ONE paid workshop (Doodle Your Emotions - that she runs paid traffic to), that sells ONE small recurring membership (Heartwork Journaling) for $47 a month and ONE certification program for people who want to teach and sell Heartwork Journaling (7k) (she’s on track to earn 1M this year).

How did she accomplish this?

  • Decided to go ALL in with Heartwork Journaling. Did live streams showing her watercolors and journaling methodology - for a YEAR

  • Took all of that content and created a book (fine-tuning her methodology)

  • Chose to master paid traffic (was tired of paying agencies who weren’t delivering results)

  • Continued refining and going deeper

  • Then washes, rinses, and repeats

This isn’t about wanting to earn a million dollars, because honestly? That’s the bi-product of her having fun doing what she loves.

She used to be in the business/marketing space (list building & coaching), and people in her life thought she was nuts for doing her ‘doodling’ stuff.

NEWSFLASH!

You don’t have to have a business about business to create a successful business (say that ten times fast!).

In fact, I’d say it might even be easier outside of the business/marketing space (based on the zero polls or data I have… it’s a gut feeling 😉).

Also… simplifying doesn’t mean getting rid of everything or living as a complete minimalist (although the older I get, the more of a minimalist I become).

It’s about the day-to-day feeling simpler so you can be more present.

So you can spend more time off the computer.

Whether that’s creating new experiences or more time to chill and read (I literally have a ‘reading tan’ on the inside of my arms (elbow) from holding my Kindle so I can float and read in the pool).

I don’t doubt that the desire to simplify my life comes from the season of life I’m in (midlife), but even so… simple feels so much better.

Here’s a question to ponder…. if you could remove some of the “shoulds” and “to-do’s” from your life and keep or grow your income, what would you remove?

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

Modernize Out Of Home with AdQuick

AdQuick unlocks the benefits of Out Of Home (OOH) advertising in a way no one else has. Approaching the problem with eyes to performance, created for marketers and creatives with the engineering excellence you’ve come to expect for the internet.

You can learn more at www.AdQuick.com

A Little Brainpower 🧠

When we do finally get ChatGPT 5.0, here’s what’s coming. “ChatGPT-5: Everything You Need to Know.”

If you’re thinking of starting on Substack, here’s a quick guide: “How to Start Writing on Substack in 2023 (A Beginner’s Guide).” (It's still applicable in 2024)

Apple releases first preview of its long-awaited iPhone AI. I’m excited about all their AI, but especially the writing tools. Time to say goodbye to Grammarly.

Tool Time 🛠

Honorary mention:

Gamma.app just keeps getting better! Now, you can import files or pull from a web URL to create with Gamma! Plus, a handful of new themes!

This is 100% me 🤣

It doesn’t quite feel like it should be August already, does it?

Even though kids are going back to school, and the stores are putting out Halloween stuff.

Pretty soon, marketers will be emailing about 4th quarter, hitting goals, and ending the year strong.

While I try to “never say never,” you won’t get that message from me (not that I haven’t sent that in the past).

I’ve got goals and plans, but I’m approaching them with more intention and ease.

It never ceases to amaze me that the easier I am about things, the more everything flows. I get everything done and enjoy the journey more.

And on that note…

I’ll be back in your inbox next week, officially sending the newsletter from Costa Rica! 🌴🏖

Have a wonderful day,
Kim