• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 195 ~ They sent us back to California

✨ the SPARK 195 ~ They sent us back to California

Not in Costa Rica yet....

To say it’s been a challenging couple of days would be an understatement.

Having taken pets to Costa Rica before, I wasn’t too worried about the health certificate process going back.

I even went to the same vet.

However, when I picked up the form, I thought it looked a little different, but I figured it was just a new form. They knew I was going to Costa Rica, and we had all the necessary shots, heartworm, etc., taken care of.

And by ‘we,’ I mean me and my dog, Lily.

With five bags and a dog (technically four bags and my iMac), and having woken up at 4:30 am, I was beyond happy to be through immigration and about to head ‘home.’

Until the vet at the Liberia airport told me I had the wrong forms and that we had to go back to Los Angeles. 😲

I kept waiting for the punchline, but it never came.

They wouldn’t let me have my vet fax or email the form (and apparently, the form I have IS approved for entry into Costa Rica. I don’t know if it was a power trip or what, but technically, we should have been allowed entry).

Anyway… to say I was a hot mess is an understatement.

I was able to send my bags to my place with the guy who was picking me up (a regular driver who is wonderful) - but they wouldn’t even let me let the dog out of the kennel. 😢

We were literally put back on the same plane we arrived on.

I didn’t even have time to go to the bathroom.

Fortunately, my Dad was (is) in LA at some family friend’s house, so he came and got us Tuesday night at about 9 pm.

I think my dog did better than I did.

I spent yesterday (Wednesday) rebooking the flight (Alaska paid for everything), arranging my pick-up again, and triple-checking everything.

My vet in Costa Rica is wonderful, so I contacted them to look over the forms and make sure everything is correct (according to them, everything is correct).

The vet in California was fantastic as well - even overnighting the forms to where I was staying so I’d have copies with a ‘live signature’ (as opposed to just a printed copy). They’ll be getting a handful of reviews across the Internet with appreciation for how they handled everything.

So, depending on when you read this…

I’ll either be back in Costa Rica or on my way there.

My rebooked flight is Thursday, August 8th, at 1:45 pm (we’ll leave the house around 10 am - you never know with LA traffic, and I’d rather be early!).

I’m pretty sure I’ll spend the first few days catching up on rest, puttering around my house, and just taking it easy.

Fingers crossed, we get a sunny morning or two and can walk down to the beach for a little reset.

Perspective is everything

It’s amazing what a little sleep, food, and some space from a situation can give you.

When I was in the thick of this, my mind went every which way imaginable. In fact, I’d go so far as to say I was in shock that it was even happening for a few hours.

Once I had my dog, a hot bath, and it was a new day, I felt more or less like, “It is what it is; let’s get there and put this behind us.”

The helpless feeling I had when everything was happening has passed. I know I’ve done everything I can, and I don’t want to hang on to the feelings of frustration. And honestly… I’m a little too tired to care at this point. 😉

I’ve also reminded myself that a little bit of grace goes a long way.

The situation was challenging enough without me berating myself for not double-checking or doing more before I left.

This is simply Life.

We all have stories of struggles, challenges, heartache, screw-ups… you name it.

This was a great reminder for me that it’s not what happens to us that matters or even shapes us. It’s how we handle it.

I’m also beyond appreciative of the wonderful people in my life who were there for me during my day of chaos.

And for that, I’m incredibly grateful.

So…

The regular newsletter will return next week.

Thanks for your understanding.

Have a wonderful and, hopefully, chaos-free day. 😉
Kim