• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 179 ~ It Just Keeps Getting Better

✨ the SPARK 179 ~ It Just Keeps Getting Better

This is what I mean

Welcome to the 179th issue of the SPARK, A weekly newsletter where inspiration meets real online strategies, behind-the-scenes stories, and a boatload of valuable resources.

First, a huge Thank You to everyone who responded to my “I made the move 🚚 email on Monday.

I have a little bonus coming for you to thank you. Look for that early next week. (I’ll email everyone who replied, so there’s still time if you haven’t done so. Look for the “I made the move” subject line and reply accordingly 😉.)

I’m hoping to wrap up a few niggly items from the move to beehiiv (which is what Monday’s email was about if you missed it), and then it’s building a new foundation over here.

I imported all of my tags from ConvertKit but will be deleting a bunch of them.

I only want to keep a handful of automations, so I have those copied and will set them up as needed (this all sounds so mysterious…, but I assure you it’s not. My goal is to simplify).

As I get more comfortable with the different functionalities of beehiiv, I’ll add a few different things to the newsletter from time to time (polls, surveys, etc.). I’m also working on a clearer structure and value proposition (from a content perspective).

Yesterday, beehiiv announced updates to their website builder (this is the ‘It just keeps getting better part’). The website builder is just as clean as the newsletter editor.

I mean… look at this 👇:

beehiiv website builder

Obviously, I haven’t done anything with mine yet other than add a logo and the ‘spark star’ (this is strictly for the newsletter, not my personal brand/business site).

I’m trying to decide how far back I want to go to import back issues. 🤔 I’ll probably bring all of ‘the SPARK’ over and leave the original “#FtheHUSTLE” newsletters on my site (if you’re new here, that’s what the newsletter used to be called).

One thing I’ve found interesting about this entire experience is realizing how much easier it is to start (or manage) an online business than it used to be.

I literally only use WordPress for content at this point.

My courses and products are in MemberVault (HighLevel was overkill for me. Again… my goal is to simplify), so if I were starting over today, I’m not so sure I’d go the WordPress route.

As long as I could grow my email list, I think I’d choose whatever was easiest and that I enjoyed using.

I’ve had this conversation with a few friends lately, and even people who are tech-savvy and have been with WordPress for years are pulling back how much they run through WordPress.

Their priority is to have more time while growing their business… and there are definitely easier ways to make things happen than WordPress.

I’m keeping my personal site on WP—moving or trying something else would be a colossal waste of time.

But let’s face it: the path of least resistance isn’t always what you know or are used to.

For example…

When I look at what Laurel Portié is doing (I’m in her $7-a-month Facebook Ads training), it has nothing to do with the tools she’s using to run and grow her seven-figure business.

She uses:

  • Kartra for her website and courses (pick any comparable platform, and you could do the same)

  • Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube for content and social (her paid membership community is in a FB group, training is in Kartra)

  • Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube for paid traffic

So, essentially, she has three things:

✔A website to learn more or work with her, buy her courses

✔ Facebook group for community

✔ Organic and paid social for content & traffic

The only email marketing she does is to her customers (and she said even then, she hates doing it). The majority of her communication happens in her Facebook group.

I can’t say I agree with not doing email marketing, but maybe if I were as good at running cheap ads for a great ROI, I’d think differently (but I doubt it, I enjoy writing).

Regardless of what you use or where you put your energy, do what feels easiest and what you enjoy using most.

We’re way past the day when any tool is much better than another. As long as it gets the job done for you, that’s all that matters.

Then, go all in and focus. 😉

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

I’m sure I’ve shared the Growth.design case studies before, but this is truly some of the best content online today. It’s so good; it’s easy to digest, and the interactive aspect makes the entire process more fun.

A Little Brainpower 🧠

A little more on SEO, Content, and Search with AI. “How to Adapt Your SEO and Content Strategies for SGE and AI Experiences.”

Did you know Facebook has a Performance Bonus Program? I didn’t either. Read ”My First 30 Days in the Facebook Performance Bonus Program: Day 1.”

Tool Time 🛠

  • Video: Another option for taking long-form videos and creating shorts. The price isn’t too bad, either. Try Wisecut free here.

  • WhatsApp: Do you use WhatsApp for your business? Now you can automate replies, sync 3rd party apps, and more. Try WhatsHook free here.

  • Chats: This looks pretty handy—all your chat apps in one place! Apparently, Auttomatic just bought them. Use Beeper free here.

  • Collaboration: If you’re looking for influencers to collaborate with, try eezyCollab free here.

This issue was brought to you by Tella.tv - screen recording for gorgeous videos and the easiest editor around!

Content Snackz 🥨

Type of Content: Series

Difficulty: Easy

What it is: Much like I did with my “Everything is Content” series, pick ONE thing /topic you can do a short series about (3 -5 pieces of content). Ideally, this is something that is an entry point to an offer or a way to work with you (although you won’t be making an offer here).

Each piece can build on the previous piece or complement it.

The lowest barrier of entry: Email.
Email is the easiest place to do this: less formatting, your subscribers already know you, and it’s very easy for them to give direct feedback.

If you want an example of this, here’s my five-part series blog post on “Everything is Content,” which was originally sent as five emails (sent consecutively, Monday through Friday).

Here’s to magic, wherever we can find it! 😊

That’s it for this first issue of “the SPARK” on beehiiv!

I’ll keep this sign-off short since this was a little longer this week. Bear with me as I test and try things out here (I’ll keep you in the loop).

Have a fantastic day,
Kim