• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 190 ~ They Say You Want A Revolution 🎶

✨ the SPARK 190 ~ They Say You Want A Revolution 🎶

It's kind of awesome

Welcome to the 190th issue of SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

You know that weird thing that happens when you purchase something and all of a sudden you start seeing it everywhere?

A common example is a car.

Have you noticed that when you get a new car, the next thing you know, you start seeing the same model and color everywhere?

Obviously, your awareness has changed, but this ‘weird thing’ actually has a name.

It’s called the “frequency illusion” - also known as “The Baader-Meinhof phenomenon.”

It’s a cognitive bias that affects how we think and process information. It's a phenomenon where something you recently learned seems to appear everywhere, making it feel like it's more common than it actually is.

How’s that for a little psychology learning for the day? 😉

Recently, the “frequency illusion” I’ve been experiencing is conversations or articles with people saying they are ready for something completely different in their lives, primarily with what they’re doing with their businesses or careers.

Because everyone I’m talking to (or reading) experiencing this or feels this pull is in midlife, no one is “burning the boats,” so to speak.

We have more responsibility, and the reality that we’ve hit the halfway point in life is sinking in, which leads to thoughts of “There has to be a better way.”

We’ve experienced more loss, heartache, and struggles… so you start weighing what really matters.

This is where the “revolution” comes in.

There’s a spiciness about this energy that is kind of awesome.

And I’m here for all of it.

In terms of business, here’s what I’m hearing:

  • There has to be a better way

  • I don’t want to spend all my time on social media

  • I’m not enjoying what I’m doing anymore

  • This space is so crowded and the monetization options are limited

  • I want to spend less time on the computer (funny how things that save us time start feeling like they own us 🤔)

  • What used to work doesn’t work anymore (or it’s harder, more expensive, etc.)

  • Clients are worried about AI (i.e., should they keep paying for creative services?)

  • I’m tired of testing and trying trends or tactics (can I get an Amen?)

Here’s the cool thing, though…

This isn’t happening simply because a certain demographic has hit midlife (I’m talking to you, my fellow GenXers).

The world is changing.

And it’s happening at what feels like the speed of light.

I’ll refrain from anything political here because that will definitely bring the vibe down.

I think it’s exciting that the online world is maturing and shifting.

I LOVE that people’s bullsh*t meters are better, and we’re more conscious as creators and consumers.

I know these are broad, general statements that don’t play out the same across every market or niche… yet.

But it’s coming.

There’s a fine line between speaking your truth and trash-talking.

Maybe it’s because people are tired (across the board in life) - and they’re realizing that by not speaking their truth, they’re selling themselves down the river.

That doesn’t mean you have to become an activist, take on a new cause, or start a YouTube channel calling out the BS.

What it means is that you start listening to yourself more.

You start asking better questions.

In a recent interview for the Women, Wisdom and Wealth podcast, after the call, I was talking with my guest, and I said, “I would be happy as a clam if I could spend all my time writing and recording.”

Pick one or two platforms/channels, and that’s it.

So… guess where my focus is now?

On making that happen.

Do yourself a favor and pose the same question: What would you choose if you were picking how you wanted to spend your time for work/business? (not based on what you’ve been doing or what you’re trained to do).

Would you change niches entirely? Get rid of services? Start services?

Our brains will naturally search for an answer when we give it a question that needs answering.

The answer may not immediately come to you, and that’s O.K.

Use this question to get excited about what you truly want to create.

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

Save $50 on STORYSlides now through next Tuesday!

Discover How to Create Engaging StorySlides with Canva to
Drive Traffic and Conversions

A Little Brainpower 🧠

A great little parable about marketing. “A Tale of Two Very Different Marketers.”

I LOVE me some visuals! “20 Awesome Book Summary Visuals.”(TIP: Can you model something like this for your market/niche?).

You know what they say… the thumbnail is everything. “12 Steps to Create Epic YouTube Thumbnails with AI.”

Tool Time 🛠

  • Client Portal: If I had clients, I might give this a go. Share dashboards, chat with clients, and more. Try Hubflo free here.

  • AI SaaS Builder: These take the “no-code” idea to another level. Build & ship your AI SaaS fast. Get the launch deal here.

  • Sell Digital Products: A fast and easy way to sell digital products. Simple and easy to use with customizable product pages. Try Pocketsflow here.

  • Claude AI: Now you can organize your Claude chats into Projects with curated assets (great for teams!). Check out Claude Projects here.

Seriously… look at these characters! 😂

So I’ve started packing for Costa Rica!

As of today, it’s 33 days away.

I’ve been preparing for a while, but some close friends of mine went down on the 1st and are staying at my place for two weeks.

Fortunately, they’re amazing friends and hauled down four bags for me (I mean, come on, that’s friendship!). I decided to disassemble my standing desk and send some parts down with them, and I will bring the top down with me.

I’ll eventually have a new desktop made down there, but I’d rather have my desk right away.

The crazy thing is the difference in what I’m bringing this time compared to last time. I have so many clothes I never wore because, honestly, it’s all about fabric and comfort.

At most, it will be two suitcases of clothes, and everything else is stuff for my place (and I’m bringing a lot of art stuff down).

It feels surreal that this move is only slightly more than four weeks away. When I decided to go back (January), it seemed like I had all the time in the world.

I know my last month here will go fast, so I’m going to soak up this California summer (there’s lots of rain in Costa Rica right now) and squeeze in as much time with family and friends as possible.

Have a wonderful day, and Happy 4th if you’re in the States.

Kim