• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 188 ~ What's Really Happening

✨ the SPARK 188 ~ What's Really Happening

This doodle explains things

Welcome to the 188th issue of SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

I was super nervous when she asked me.

She had been my piano teacher for almost ten years, was a good friend of my Mom’s, and I had a ton of respect for her.

So naturally, I didn’t want to let her down.

She’s also a class act (my Dad, sister, and I went up to have lunch with her after the holidays this year. She kept her Christmas decorations up so we could see where she had all the Angels my Mom had given her over the years ❤).

Anyway, she asked me to “design” the program cover for the annual recital (design as in drawing). I was 15 or 16...

My love of drawing, painting, and basically anything creative has been an innate part of me for as long as I can remember.

Which is why I had to create a new doodle for you this week (it’s been a while).

Stay with me, though, because I’m going to show you the correlation to your business, even if this might seem a little ‘woo-woo’ (what can I say, I love me some ‘woo’).

This was kind of a light bulb moment for me when I had this thought a few weeks ago.

When we’re in a negative space with negative thoughts, we tend to think we’re the only ones in that space (although family and friends might think otherwise 😂).

But even if you’re alone and having negative thoughts and feelings, you don’t realize that the negative energy doesn’t just stay in your head.

What’s really happening is that we send that energy out into the world, and here’s the kicker…

That’s what comes back to us.

Like a boomerang.

Have you ever had one of those days when one thing goes wrong, you start operating on autopilot, and things keep going wrong? 🤔

Fortunately, the flip side of that is that when things are going well and you’re conscious of them, they tend to get better.

Science has proven that everything is energy. Nothing in your “logical brain” would agree that the screen you’re reading this on is made up entirely of moving particles.

Right?

Yet it’s true.

This is why I’ve always wondered how people can air so much drama online (zero judgment; I’ve had a few momentary lapses where I argue with people online. Fortunately, it’s only been a few times).

While people who agree with the drama you share might feed your ego and validate you, all this does is attract more 💩 into your life.

A recent experience with someone made me step back and say, “This isn’t the type of person I want to work with. What is it in ME that brought this into my life?”

It would have been easy to blame, take offense, or have other self-righteous thoughts.

But I decided otherwise.

And hear my heart - there was a processing involved in all of this, but nothing is more empowering than complete and total self-responsibility.

You have to be crystal clear on:

  • Who you work with

  • The type of work you do

  • What you charge (zero explaining)

  • Where and how you show up

  • The type of content you create

  • What you’re willing to do and not do to create the business and life you want

  • How you want to spend your time

This recent experience led to a huge epiphany that will impact my business significantly (and ultimately my life).

And I’m thrilled.

It feels like a “Hell YES!”

After an initial “WTF!” 😂

When you get clear on the things I mentioned above, you have less and less experiences that make you say “WTF” and a lot more that lead to “Hell YES!”

What’s fascinating is that I see more and more people expressing something similar and making changes (If you didn’t watch the video I shared yesterday, watch “Burnout (why you’re miserable”) here. And be sure to give him a like & comment if it resonates with you).

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again for the people in the back…

We’re supposed to enjoy the journey.

If you’re not enjoying it anymore, maybe it’s time for a change.

I’ll share more of my epiphany as it unfolds.

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

Do you feel like you’re spinning your wheels trying to grow your business, using the same old sales and marketing strategies that aren’t cutting it? 

Having a great product or service doesn’t always mean having paying customers. Join me this coming Monday, June 24th, when I speak at the Sales Surge Summit. Register for free here.

A Little Brain Power 🧠

Don’t overcomplicate your content strategy. Distribute Ideas, Not Content.

Even though I just updated my About page, I might make some adjustments. How to Make A Great About Page (specifically for newsletters).

A great personal story from Chenell Basilio. How My Business Crashed & Burned, My Own Story of Failure.

Tool Time 🛠

Haha, touché 😂

I’ve officially started the interviews for “Women, Wisdom & Wealth!”

It looks like this will be more than a series 😊 - although I’m not quite sure what that looks like yet.

The response has been fantastic, and the conversations are already fueling me. The goal is to get at least 6-8 done and edited before launching this into the world.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, this was an idea I had to talk to women who work with women around the topic of money.

There are many incredible women who teach the tactical and strategic side of money, but I wanted to explore the psychological side of money, our stories, and how this is different for women than it is for men.

I also intend to focus on GenX (or early 40s) and older women.

Based on the response, I think I’ll open this up to any woman (in that demographic) willing to share her stories, expertise, and views on this. Stay tuned for a link to learn more (next week).

AND… I’m down to 48 days until I return to Costa Rica. 🥰

I have friends going down to stay at my place the first two weeks of July and in exchange, will be taking some things down for me! WOOHOO! So that means getting a lot ready next week… which kind of blew my mind.

Until then, I’ll be enjoying as much time in California with friends & family as I can.

Have a wonderful day,
Kim