• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 196 ~ When Things Get Less Interesting

✨ the SPARK 196 ~ When Things Get Less Interesting

And why I'm back in California (temporarily)

In partnership with

Welcome to the 196th issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

If I hadn’t lived through this, I don’t know that I would believe it.

I’ll fill you in more at the end of the newsletter, but I’m writing this from California.

Because yes, Costa Rica sent my dog & me back to LA AGAIN.

Last week was, without a doubt, one of the most insane weeks I’ve had in a very, very long time.

It’s taken me a few days just to catch up on sleep, regain my sanity, and regroup to travel back.

On one of the flights back, I had to remind myself that as much as the situation sucked, there were families fleeing their country on foot looking for asylum and safety.

Maybe that was a tad extreme, but it helped me regain my footing.

Perspective is everything, isn’t it?

I’ve done a lot of perspective-shifting in my business this year.

Which naturally includes a lot of self-reflection (what do I really want to do?), but it’s hard to change your perspective if you don’t change what you’re looking at.

The best way to shift our perspectives about our business is to get outside of the space or niche we’re in.

I was reading an article this week that listed the top 20 most profitable newsletters on Substack, and… ready for this?

There is only one newsletter that is part of the ‘creator economy’ or ‘Internet marketing’ space (I'm not sure he would classify it as such), and that is “Lenny’s Newsletter” (over 763k subscribers!) on the list.

The more I look outside of the creator space, the more opportunity I see.

And the less interesting it feels to me.

Not because the space itself isn’t interesting, but after 16.5 years in this space, do I really need more of the latest hacks or tactics?

At this point in my life, I’m looking for depth, quality, and meaning (again, not throwing shade or saying that doesn’t exist in this space. There are far too many brilliant people doing incredible things).

But I’m asking myself, “How can I develop and improve my skills more at the things I enjoy doing while making better use of what I create?”

How can I incorporate more of ‘me’ into my business—i.e., incorporate things outside of marketing that light me up more? (I never started my business to create content about marketing.)

First, I know that the answer isn’t simply “more” (Gary V preaches this all the time. I’d rather focus on paid traffic than create more free stuff).

For example, I was reading a newsletter yesterday (I don’t remember which one), and in the footer where the author had their social media accounts, there was only ONE account.

Twitter/X.

I’ve pretty much left Twitter (besides the drop in traffic, my disdain for Elon will probably keep me off it permanently, but I digress), but I found it fascinating that this person was basically saying, “This is it. You can also find me on this one platform.

WOW.

I instantly thought, “Good on ya!”

Can you imagine how much more time and space you’d have in your business and life if you removed the platforms you don’t enjoy and instead decided to double down on one or two only?

Without the expectation of adding more later when you’ve mastered one or two.

Maybe it’s just me, but I’m feeling a huge pull towards marketing differently.

Remember, all the data we have on what works in marketing is only because that’s the only thing that’s been measured.

It doesn’t mean something else won’t work.

I don’t have the energy to try to fit my content into necessary templates or rules right now.

I also know enough about copywriting and psychology (both of which I enjoy exploring more deeply) to be smart about what I create.

I’m not saying to throw out everything we’ve learned or been taught about conversions, strategies, and tactics, but there’s something to be said about lining up with what it is you truly want to be doing.

If you find yourself avoiding marketing, maybe it’s not because you’re lazy, don’t know how to do it, or are procrastinating.

Maybe there are too many “shoulds” and rules…

My challenge to you this week is to throw a little caution to the wind, throw out the shoulds and rules, and see what happens (and pay attention to how you feel along the way!).

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

Turn your email & SMS marketing into a profitability engine

  • Increase welcome flow revenue by 50%

  • Generate 20% more repeat purchases

  • Send shoppers to branded storefronts with a 17% CVR

A Little Brainpower 🧠

Here’s that article I mentioned. “The Top 20 Most Profitable Newsletters on Substack.” (And sorry, it’s on Yahoo Finance… heinous user experience).

Tool Time 🛠

  • Tasks/To-do: Transform your to-do list into an actionable
    schedule that works. Download Task Kitchen here.

  • Email & Automations: This looks like a new email marketing tool (their copy isn’t super clear) with unique automation and flows. Use the FREE forever account. Check out Fillout here.

  • Website copy: Generate website copy that sells in minutes, not weeks. For agencies, website designers, and entrepreneurs, try Landing Pro AI free here.

  • Video: Another option for creating Shorts from long-form video. Templates, subtitles, B-roll, and more. Try Vidyo.ai free here.

Man… my life certainly felt like this last week 🤪

O.K., let’s see if I can give you the TL;DR on the Costa Rica situation.

Basically, my vet in California screwed everything up. I used the same vet when I moved in 2021 (and I pulled that certificate when I got back to Northern CA), only to realize they had missed a signature and the certificate number on that form as well.

I just got lucky.

The procedure requires a USDA endorsement, which then issues the certificate # and the forms need to be signed by a USDA vet (my vet is on the website as an approved vet).

On the first trip, they didn’t use the Costa Rica-specific form (or include the certificate & USDA signature), and on the second trip, there wasn’t a certificate number or USDA vet signature.

The worst part?

When done correctly, they can submit the forms electronically to Costa Rica, so I know they’re approved before I even step on the plane. 

After getting a little sleep, I did my own research, called the USDA office, and spoke to a handful of other vets (this procedure has been in place since 2004).

I sent a very firm and direct letter to the vet (to get reimbursed for all the additional expenses) and have an appointment with a new vet next week (the vet replied, and it looks like she’s agreeing to the reimbursement. I have a feeling she wants me to sign something stating I won’t take further action, which I won’t if my costs are reimbursed).

As of now, my plan is to rent a car and drive down to LA on Sunday the 25th (It’s the only airport that Alaska flies direct to Liberia right now. As of Dec. 21, it looks like I’ll be able to go directly to San Francisco! 🙏), stay with my daughter overnight, and she’ll take us to LAX Monday morning the 26th for a 10 am flight.

I knew I couldn’t fly this week. The thought of that made me want to curl up in the fetal position and cry.

I also don’t want to do that to my dog. She spent a total of 40 hours in the kennel over three days 😢 (that was the worst part for me).

Anyway, we’ve survived and are still looking forward to getting back to Costa Rica.

And for what it’s worth, Alaska has been phenomenal (they shouldn’t have approved the health cert either. I’m getting refunds and credits for a flight back!).

There’s nothing like a few nights of good sleep, more rest, and a new day to help you get through the curveballs life throws at you.

Have a wonderful day,
Kim