• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 193 ~ In a World of Highlight Reels

✨ the SPARK 193 ~ In a World of Highlight Reels

What do you really want?

Welcome to the 193rd issue of the SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

Have you ever experienced something that feels like a huge inconvenience or challenge, only to realize that something worse would have occurred if it hadn’t happened?

Or, even better, had it not occurred, you wouldn’t have met someone who has become an important part of your life?

It’s easy to focus on missed opportunities and chances (our brains have been hardwired through evolution to focus on the negative).

It takes a conscious effort to stop and notice all of the good things that have come from what we perceive to be a disappointment.

In a world of highlight reels, it’s easy to feel like you’re not doing enough or that you “should” be earning more, have a bigger list, have more clients, etc.

The idea that what we’re doing or where we’re at isn’t exactly right or where we’re supposed to be is a myth.

We carry way too many “shoulds” that aren’t even ours.

It reminds me of something the late Zig Ziglar shared once (on an audiobook; I didn’t know him 😉):

“When you’re at work, you feel like you should be spending more time at home, and when you’re at home, you feel like you should be spending more time at work.
No wonder you never get anything done; you’re always traveling.”

How effective can you be if you’re never present and focused on the moment you’re in?

It’s probably apparent from the last few emails that I’m in somewhat of a transitional phase in my life right now.

This past month, I’ve had a few “come to Jesus” moments and have been examining every aspect of my business.

This is the space between the breakdown and the breakthrough… I’m past the breakdown phase (and “breakdown” is probably a little too strong, but we’ll go with it for now), but I’m not quite at the breakthrough yet.

And that’s O.K.

On Friday of last week, I was trying to get some work done, and after seven or eight interruptions, I gave up.

Instead of trying to force myself to sit at my desk and get something (anything really) done, I stopped.

I regrouped, updated my list of things I needed to do for my move and my Dad’s upcoming 80th birthday, and walked away from the computer.

That’s when I realized I needed to stop trying to do anything other than what was necessary (like my newsletter) for my remaining two weeks in California.

Plus, I want to enjoy the time I have left with people here and not feel like I “should” be doing something else (i.e., working).

I cannot begin to tell you the relief I felt after making that decision.

How often have you tried to force yourself to do more because you “think you should?”

This happens all the time with our businesses.

You see people succeeding with…

  • A social platform you don’t want to be on

  • Creating and selling courses

  • Running paid ads

  • Creating communities or continuity programs

  • Running live cohorts

  • Writing on specific platforms

  • Hiring certain coaches

  • Joining a Mastermind

And that’s just for starters.

If we’re not present, it’s easy to jump into one of those things thinking it might be the missing piece, and “Dammit! This time, I’m going to finish it, stick with it, etc.”

It can be a vicious cycle.

It can also be part of the process that helps you get clear and on the right path. You’re the only one that can answer that.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t try things or test new strategies.

Just make sure you give yourself a little space and ask yourself, “Do I really want to do this?”

I’ve surprised myself with what shows up when I sit with this question.

There’s no point trying to force yourself into doing something that deep down you really don’t want to do (I’m not talking about commitments and responsibilities).

All of that is a distraction or a diversion.

What would it look like if you decided today to stop doing the things you no longer want to do?

How would your life feel?

If that idea excites you, maybe it’s time to start planning how to make that happen.

I truly believe that when we line up with that spark inside of us (pun intended), the Universe conspires with us to make it happen.

Choose YOU!

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

I’ve shared this before, but the updates to AI Carousels are fantastic!

This recent update includes a brand new Quote Card Generator.

A Little Brainpower 🧠

Here’s everything you need to know about Schema Markup. “Schema Markup 101: Boost Your SEO & Improve Search.”

Tool Time 🛠

Totally me 🤣

That packing statement also applies to me and what I’m packing and bringing to Costa Rica.

I’ve already sent a bunch of stuff down with friends, and now I’m down to what “really needs to go” on my move back (every trip back to California and when anyone visits is when I bring additional things back).

The difference with this move is that I know what to expect (how great is it that I got my same place back?) and what I truly need. I also know how much more I’d like to have down there with me from day one (I’m bringing all my art stuff that I didn’t bring last time).

It’s not like I can’t get things I need in Costa Rica, but some things cost more because they’ve been imported or you can’t find the quality you want.

Regardless, I know it will all work out perfectly.

On that note, bear with me if I’m a little MIA the next few weeks.

Have a wonderful day,
Kim