• the SPARK
  • Posts
  • ✨ the SPARK 184 ~ You Might Be Doing This Too

✨ the SPARK 184 ~ You Might Be Doing This Too

A Hidden Opportunity

Welcome to the 184th issue of SPARK, a weekly newsletter that helps you transform daily experiences into compelling content that
captivates and sells.

Sometimes, you hear or read something that stops you in your tracks.

Even if it’s not new to you… when you’re ready, you hear it differently.

This was inspired by something I read in Justin Welsh's newsletter recently, and I’ve talked a little about it before.

The way he phrased it, though, really hit home:

“You’re underestimating the amount of beginners in your audience.”

You may have heard the term “knowledge bias” before; the quote above supports that.

How often have you seen someone share something they’ve created - whether on their site or socially and there’s all kinds of engagement and “Thank you for this! I had no idea!” (or some variation)?

And you’re thinking, “I assumed everyone knew that?” Or, “I’ve known that for years!”

But because you’ve learned more or are deeper in your craft, you forget that there are plenty of people in your orbit (on your list or following you), who are new to what you know and need what you know!

More importantly, they want to learn it from you.

Look at it this way: you have ONE client… they’re just at different stages of their journey.

At each stage of their journey, they will have different desires regarding what they need and how they want to work with you/learn from you.

Then, some people hang around simply because they like you.

That’s OK, too.

What isn’t OK (being a little dramatic here) is that you don’t show up with your knowledge and skills because you make assumptions.

Assumptions that there are already enough (too many) people teaching what you know or have ‘cornered the market.’

There aren’t.

There are 7.9 BILLION people on the planet.

I share this all from experience. I’ve done this far too often in my life, and I’m putting that old story to bed.

Don’t hold back from doing what you feel compelled to do because of old beliefs or stories you’ve told yourself. And if you’re not doing what you feel compelled to do… you’re more than likely stuck with an old belief or…

There’s a fear.

Fortunately, you can do something about both old beliefs and fears. It’s just a matter of choosing to work through the discomfort.

In a conversation with my daughter last week, I said that I was going to start talking more about how I was using AI - and I said it in a way that was kind of like, “Screw it! I’m going to do this” and she asked me why I said it that way.

And I realized I had pulled back from it out of fear.

Fear of what others would think.

When I got into ChatGPT last year (after starting with Jasper early on), I had a couple of workshops, offered coaching, and launched “The AI Marketing Chronicles.”

I wasn’t pivoting my business but finding new ways to work.

But there was this niggly voice in the back of my head, worried that people would think I was jumping on a bandwagon or changing gears again.

Well… guess what?

I’ve put a muzzle on that niggly voice. 😉

And I challenge you to do the same.

As social media channels all try to “TikTokify” their algorithms, we’ll see content based on interests, not who we follow.

Hopefully, we’ll see less content that’s just trying to game the algorithm, too, but maybe I’m being greedy (have you ever watched a ‘short video’ and wondered what the actual point was? Yet there are tons of views! Moving on…).

Here’s to doing whatever you want without worrying about what others think or assuming everyone already knows it.

They don’t.

And even if they do… your content, your voice might just be what they need to take action and make progress.

Go, do you!

SPARK Spotlight 🔥

There are so many fun image tools to try. Check out Ideogram to generate a quick image with AI. It can also be used for illustration, 3D rendering, photos, and more. Use it for free or start at $8 a month (I may have shared this already 🤪).

A Little Brainpower 🧠

How to humanize your writing with ChatGPT (the more you practice this the better you’ll get!). (link)

Google E-E-A-T: How to Create People-First Content (link)

I love this! Bob Ross Was an Early Content Marketing Genius. Here Are 7 Content Marketing Lessons from Him. (link)

Tool Time 🛠

  • Screen recording for Windows: Create beautiful screen recordings that are easy to edit! Windows only. Try Canvid Beta free here.

  • SEO: Bulk analyzes SERPs to reveal weak spots and discover actual keywords. Try LowFruit here.

  • LinkedIn: Find the latest trends in your niche to create engaging content that sounds like you. Check out Becca here.

  • Messages: Get ALL your messages in ONE inbox! Messenger, WhatsApp, Text, Social… whew! Check out Texts here.

HAHA… who eats only 10 chips?! 🤣

Content Snackz 🥨

Type of content to create: An Update

Difficulty: Easy

What it is: At the risk of stating the obvious, this is simply an update to a post, product, or service of yours or an update to a product you use and recommend.

I’d recommend this be an article, video, or podcast (i.e., not just a social post. Create a social post from your original content and link back to the original post).

Reference (link back) to your original content in the update.

Think of this the way you think of product updates: We love hearing what’s new, how our favorite tools have improved, or how to stay on top of what’s happening in our niche.

I’m now down to 75 days until I return to Costa Rica! 🏖

When I made the decision, it felt so far away (especially because it was January and it was cold, gray, and gloomy outside).

Having moved so many times in the last 6 years, I at least had the foresight to start planning and getting situated early on.

As excited as I am, I am definitely going to miss being able to see family and friends so often. It’s not something I take for granted. Fortunately, it’s not that far away, and people are already planning their trips to visit.

Which makes me happy. 😊

Next week, I’ll have an update on the giveaway and the waitlist for the Summer Session of “Everything Is Content.”

WOOHOO!

I hope your May has been fantastic. If you’re in the States, here’s to enjoying a long and warm Memorial Weekend.

Have a fantastic day,
Kim